submit@infiniteprivacy.com
Personal Privacy

Twitter Doubles Down, Removes User Privacy Option

The Infinite Brief
Twitter has changed what happens when users opt out of the “Allow additional information sharing with business partners” setting in the “Personalization and Data” part of its site.

Previously, anyone in the world could opt out of Twitter’s conversion tracking (data gathered about who views, interacts with, and clicks on the ad), and people in GDPR-compliant regions had to opt in. Now, people outside of Europe have lost that option.

Users in the U.S. and most of the rest of the world can now only opt out of Twitter sharing data with Google and Facebook.

Twitter claims that the new changes will “help Twitter continue operating as a free service.”

Curated from EFF

Leave a Response